When you're doing it right, you're..

Movie-bulk #1

When making this list I had both skill and entertainment value in mind. So even though a better player is rated lower, I am aware of the difference in skill, yet I value the others for their music, editing etc. And the most valuable attribute of them all is how I look back and remember them.

It’s time for the Vanilla WoW, best of, PvP movies!

  1. Mute/Kishkumen/Intoxicated – World of Roguecraft Episode 3
  2. Mute/Kishkumen/Intoxicated – World of Roguecraft Episode 1
  3. Mute/Kishkumen/Intoxicated – World of Roguecraft Episode 2 (Sadly the stream is taken off of wacraftmovies, but some random has uploaded it onto youtube in three parts, they should be in the featured list when following the link.)
  4. Grim – Total Annihilation
  5. Grim – Path of Blood
  6. Kenion – Eviscerape
  7. Meandro – Bring the Shadow vol. 3
  8. HappyMinti – Nerf Sap 1
  9. Eryx – Endless Sacrifice
  10. Perklunt – The Perkulator 4

There were several others I wanted to add to the list, but since I set my list to max ten entries, there is no room for them, sadly.

The Mute movies, possibly the one responsible for the diminishing returns on our stuns, were by far my favorites and still is today. Mixing humor with educative information and great game-play is a killer combination. Just the fact that he killed rank 14 warriors naked with a starting dagger is enough for him to sit on that number one spot forever.

Grim is another type of player. His movies is more of a “I shit on you, and now you’re on warcraftmovies proving my point.” His comments in his videos make him come across as a bit arrogant, but I guess it’s only for the entertainment. Also this was more of a Vanilla phenomenon, you wont see this as much in TBC or Wrath movies. Besides, I like the way he shits on his opponents!

Kenion is a god of editing and he also makes machinima. With great gear, tier 2,5 and a few tier 3 items, he’s also one who burst down his enemies. I did not watch his movies as much as I did with the other ones, but I remember being in awe of his play-style. This is enough for him to get that far up my list.

Meandro, probably the one I have watched the most. He managed to release 8 movies (all during vanilla!) in the series (Bring the Shadow) and 1 movie where he had just got his thunderfury and were dueling with it to show off. His play-style is to me kind of unique. He makes mistakes, he’s not flawless, but yet he recovers and ends up victorious. He has a lot of really good introductions to start off with, that sets the mood for the rest of the movies. He’s what I would call “an undead to the bone”.

HappyMinti‘s movie is footage from where he ganks (in lack of a better word) players that are higher level than him. The movie is old as a mammoth’s fart, and it’s impressive. It’s also really amusing to see all the mistakes being done at the time from some of his opponents. A classic!

Eryx is awesome. Nothing less than awesome. Awesome! Yet his movies wont make the top of my list, because it’s not the movies I spent the most of my time watching. I do remember him though, along with Perklunt, probably one of the top 5 rogues during Vanilla, skill-wise. So he has to get a spot.

Perklunt is tagging along with Eryx. You can’t make a list and not have those two names on it when you talk about Vanilla WoW and skillful rogues. A nice way to round off this list, having two of the biggest names around.

That concludes my list of PvP Movies from the Vanilla era. I had a blast putting it together, getting to reminisce the glory of level 60 game-play! Next in my Movie-bulk will be the movies from Burning Crusade, at which point the arena was introduced and the PvP movies flourished. I will probably spend even longer sorting my top ten on that list compared to this one.

I’m Nimbs, and I still think about my level 60 days once in a while.

2 responses

  1. Nice post, I can see how superior video actually is!

    June 24, 2010 at 8:09 pm

  2. The things I’d do to that!

    October 10, 2010 at 6:43 pm

Leave a comment